Freescale’s sensors breakout boards

A few more PCBs, this time for Freescale’s sensors.

MMA8541Q

The MMA8451Q is a  low-power, three-axis accelerometer with 14 bits of resolution. It communicates over I2C,  has built in tilt/orientation detection and also tap detection.

To make the PCB I downloaded the Eagle files from Sparkfun breakout board and modified it to make it single sided. I had to add a couple of 0 ohm resistors as jumpers.

Freescale sensors

To test it I used Adafruit Library for Arduino

mma8451

FXOS8700CQ

The FXOS8700CQ combines a 14-bit accelerometer and a 16-bit magnetometer. It also has some programmable acceleration event functions, like tap and orientation detection, and includes programmable magnetic event functions: Threshold detection, Vector-magnitude change detection, etc.

Freescale sensors

It  can communicate using i2c or SPI. I used this library to test it.

fx0s8700cq

MPL3115A2

The MPL3115A2 is a pressure sensor that provides altitude data to within 30cm. It has a I2C interface and the outputs are digitized by a high resolution 24-bit ADC. The MPL3115A2  can measure:

  • Pressure: 20-bit measurement (Pascals)
  • Altitude: 20-bit measurement (meters)
  • Temperature: 12-bit measurement (degrees Celsius)

Freescale sensors

I also used Sparkfun’s Eagle files to make the board and I tested using Adafruit Library.

mpl3115a2

According to Google Maps the height where I live is 64.13 m. I was testing the device on a first floor, I would say it’s pretty accurate.

Logic Level Converter

All this sensors are 3V devices. I tried first to connect them to a MSP430 Launchpad using Energia but I couldn’t make them work.

The I2C protocol defines a so-called repeated start condition. After having sent the address byte (address and read/write bit) the master may send any number of bytes followed by a stop condition. Instead of sending the stop condition it is also allowed to send another start condition again followed by an address (and of course including a read/write bit) and more data1.

Freescales’s sensors use this Repeated Start command and as I found out, Energia doesn’t support it. As I don’t have any 3.3V Arduino I needed a logic level converter.

I downloaded Sparkfun files for their  Bi-Directional Logic Level Converter and modified it to make it single sided. I used some 2N7002 transistors I had around.

Freescale sensors

EDIT 19/01:

As requested, here is the file for the MPL3115A2 breakout board. It is based on Sparkfun board but I changed the connector pinout in order to make it easier to design a single sided PCB.

Reference

1. Repeated Start Condition

This entry was posted in diy, Electronics, English, FXOS8700CQ, MMA8541Q, MPL3115A2, pcb, sensor. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Freescale’s sensors breakout boards

  1. HT says:

    Hi, nice work. Is it possible to get your own eagle files or the BOM for the MPL3115A2. Seem to be reduced to the just needed item, compared to the breakout from Sparkfun or Adafruit (https://www.adafruit.com/products/1893). Thanks in advance.

  2. Pingback: Hackaday Links: January 24, 2016 | Hackaday

  3. Pingback: Hackaday Links: January 24, 2016 | Ad Pub

  4. Pingback: Hackaday Links: January 24, 2016 - CyberX Crew

Leave a Reply

